Haake Beck

From beer for brick-layers to the "Kiss of the North"
Print | Film | Online | Literature | Event

Haake Beck – from beer for masons to the kiss of the North

Do you remember your first kiss?

This memory immediately evokes strong emotions. At Wächter & Wächter, this is the goal for our brands. We put our entire creative energy into fulfilling these ends. More still: we think strategically and yet in an integrated 360° manner. We multiply strong advertising with strong networked measures and the factor success. We don't just tell you this. We show you. How would it be with a beer?

 

Won with a kiss: People and market leadership

For our first beer brewer (many such clients followed), we wondered how to retake brand leadership for Haake Beck in one of the toughest markets around. Answer: with a smile and foam around the mouth. Or in marketing terms: with a campaign that uses all integrated measures to focus on "people from here" and sensitively and perceptibly rejuvenates the brand without alienating core customers.

The positioning of Haake Beck: Nordic, fresh and so good that it can even kiss.

This is a great promise for a pilsner and results in a carefree, happy key visual: a love bite from foam on the upper lip. So much freshness has consequences. In Bremen and the environs – the classical Haake Beck area – people often order "a kiss" instead of "a beer".

 

Implementation 1: In TV, cinema commercials and posters, representing the beer like a kiss

You've probably experienced this: only split seconds decide whether more than a passing acquaintanceship will develop from a kiss. With Haake Beck, a real relationship develops.

 

 

 

Implementation 2: A different kind of face-to-face marketing

To be successful in the event area, one can do everything, but not just anything. For Haake Beck, we closed an airport, dammed the Weser River and set up an open-air cinema. All of this for those in the land of Haake Beck, some of whom had a chance to win a building site by making a point landing with a parachute jump.

Implementation 3: Media cooperation – one of the first cinema stars

We didn't just make a film, but staged a special campaign revolving around the core message of the campaign. Instead of cool models, we brought in "normal people" like your next-door neighbor. Via TV, posters, advertisements, radio and Internet, we looked for main characters. With overwhelming success. The result: a huge campaign and free PR on all channels.

 

Implementation 4: Diverse, intelligently connected POS measures

High-recognition POS appearances in retail stores, beverage markets and restaurants, which were closely tied to the campaign and events, got the regional brand out from under the shadow of its big sister, Becks.

Success, success, success: we kissed our way to the top

Such a refreshing campaign that the entire region now owns up to its love to the beer from here. A bundle of complementary, interlocking measures moved mountains in Northern Germany – with a comparatively low budget – stripped away the image of the mason's beer and brought Haake Beck back to the summit, to its traditional role as a leader.

For number fans:
  • 10% more willingness to tap the beer in less than 2 years.
  • 127% more consumers in the young target group of up to age 30

 

 

  • During the regatta on the Weser, 200 sports-mad participants from all over the world paddled up the river on their inflatable islands. The reward was the kiss of the North, a huge applause from over 25,000 spectators and PR as long as the Weser.
  • Night Skating on the tarmac of the Bremen Airport – also a huge success: 20,000 participants and enthusiastic reportages in the press.
  • Summer, stars under clear heavens, stars on the screen and a fresh kiss from the North. The open-air cinema tour that Haake Beck took throughout the region inspired over 1,000 movie-viewers and enthused them for the beer from here.
  • We designed our media partnerships to get more out of them than we put in. Over 3,500 people from Bremen and the surrounding region applied to appear in the movie star campaign, sending videos or coming personally. SAT.1 presented the three finalists on TV at no cost, and the audience voted for their favorite via Ted. If you want to become – or remain – the market leader, we should get acquainted. We'd love to give you tips on successful, creative integrated communication.

Haake Beck

Vom Maurerbier zum Kuss des Nordens
Print | Film | Online | Literatur | Event

Haake Beck – vom Maurerbier zum Kuss des Nordens

Erinnern Sie sich noch an Ihren ersten Kuss?

Sofort haben Sie ein starkes emotionales Bild vor Augen. Dieses Ziel wollen wir bei Wächter & Wächter für Marken erreichen. Und dafür sind wir kreativ. Mehr noch: wir denken strategisch und wir handeln integriert, 360 Grad. Wir multiplizieren starke Werbung mit starken vernetzten Maßnahmen und mit dem Faktor Erfolg. Das erzählen wir Ihnen nicht nur. Das rechnen wir Ihnen auch vor. Wie wär´s erst mal bei einem Bier?

 

Mit einem Kuss gewinnen: Menschen und Marktführerschaft

Für unseren ersten Bierkunden (es folgten noch viele) stellte sich die Frage: Wie schaffen wir es, in einem der härtesten Märkte die Marktführerschaft für Haake Beck zurück zu erobern? Antwort: mit einem Lächeln und Schaum um den Mund. Oder auf Marketing-Deutsch: mit einer Kampagne, die mit allen integrierten Maßnahmen den "Menschen von hier" in den Mittelpunkt stellt und die Marke sensibel und zugleich spürbar verjüngt, ohne den Stammverwendern fremd zu werden.

Haake Beck, die Positionierung: nordisch, frisch und so gut, dass es sogar küssen kann.

Das ist ein schönes Versprechen für ein Pils und beschert ein unbeschwertes, fröhliches Key Visual: einen Knutschfleck aus Schaum auf der Oberlippe. So viel Frische hat Folgen. In Bremen und umzu, dem klassischen Haake-Beck-Land wird immer öfter statt "ein Bier" "ein Kuss" bestellt.

 

Die Umsetzung 1: Bei TV, Kinospots und Plakat läuft es wie beim Küssen

Vielleicht kennen Sie es aus eigener Erfahrung. Wenige Sekunden entscheiden darüber, ob mehr als eine flüchtige Bekanntschaft daraus wird. Bei Haake Beck wurde was Festes daraus.

 

 

 

Umsetzung 2: Face-to-Face Marketing der anderen Art

Um im Eventbereich erfolgreich zu sein, darf man alles machen, nur nicht irgendwas. Für Haake Beck haben wir einen Flughafen gesperrt, die Weser gestaut und Kinos an die Luft gesetzt. Das alles für die Menschen im Lande von Haake Beck, von denen einige dazu noch mit einem zielgenauen Fallschirmsprung die Chance auf einen Bauplatzgewinn hatten.

Umsetzung 3: Medienkooperationen- einer der ersten Kino-Stars

Wir haben nicht einfach nur einen Film gedreht, sondern gleich eine besondere Aktion um den Kerngedanken der Kampagne inszeniert: anstelle von kühlen Models holten wir nette "Normalos" von der Straße. Über TV, Plakat, Anzeigen, Funk und Internet haben wir nach Hauptdarstellern gesucht. Mit überwältigendem Erfolg. Das Ergebnis: eine Riesenaktion und Gratis-PR auf allen Kanälen.

 

Umsetzung 4: Vielfältige, intelligent verzahnte POS Massnahmen

POS-Auftritte mit hoher Wiedererkennbarkeit bei LEH; Getränkehandel und in der Gastronomie, die zudem eng mit Kampagne und Events verbunden wurden, holten die regionale Marke aus dem Schatten der großen Schwester Becks.

Erfolge, Erfolge: wir haben uns nach oben geküsst

Eine Kampagne, die so erfrischend ist, dass sich die gesamte Region zum Bier von hier bekennt. Ein Bündel von Massnahmen, die ineinandergreifen, sich ergänzen und sich so in ihrer Wirkung verstärken, dass mit einem vergleichsweise geringen Budget auch im Norden Berge versetzt werden konnten, das Image des Maurerbiers abgestreift wurde und Haake Beck es zurück zum Gipfel, zur angestammten Marktführerschaft schaffte.

Für Zahlenmenschen:
  • Unter dem Zapfhahn kam dabei heraus: 10% mehr Kaufbereitschaft in weniger als 2 Jahren.
  • 127% mehr Käufer in der jungen Zielgruppe bis 30

 

 

  • Bei der Badinselregatta auf der Weser paddelten 200 Sportverrückte aus aller Welt auf Badeinseln die Weser hoch. Zur Belohnung gab´s den Kuss des Nordens, Riesenapplaus von mehr als 25.000 Zuschauern und PR, so weit die Weser reicht.
  • Nightskating auf dem Rollfeld des nächtlichen Bremer Flughafens, auch da war der Erfolg abgehoben: 20.000 Teilnehmer und begeisterte Berichterstattung in der Presse.
  • Sommer, Sterne unter freiem Himmel, Stars auf der Leinwand und ein frischer Kuss des Nordens. Die Open-Air-Kino-Tour, die durch das Haake Beck Land zog, brachte mehrere 1.000 Kinobesucher auf Touren und begeisterte sie für das Bier von hier.
  • Auch bei den Medienkooperationen galt: mehr rausholen als man reinsteckt. Zur Kinostar-Aktion bewarben sich per Video oder im Handel vor Ort mehr als 3.500 Leute aus Bremen und umzu. SAT.1 stellte kostenlos die 3 Finalisten im Fernsehen vor und die Zuschauer wählten per Ted die Favoritin. Wenn Sie also zufällig Marktführer werden oder bleiben wollen, sollten wir uns näher kommen. Wir verraten Ihnen gerne mehr davon, was kreative integrierte Kommunikation so erfolgreich macht.