Stabilo point88

Fountain of youth for a classic
Print | Film | Online | Literature | Event

From educational tool to new cool

Market situation: Writing is out. School is out. Point 88 is out.

Point 88, STABILO's flagship product, had become stodgy in its old age and was fighting skirmishes on many fronts: sinking numbers of pupils (the product's main revenue driver had always been school supplies), the decline of handwriting, strong competition from other quality providers and discounters, cheap online offers and above all, little interest in using the product at home after school hours.

Bold new target group strategy

For demographic reasons, it became clear that only interest by the post-school generation could boost sales. STABILO decided – together with the agency – on a first-time, unprecedented approach for the writing materials: leaving the comfort zone of children's marketing, even though the desired target group of secondary school graduates and prospective students (14-24 years old) is fragmented, very heterogeneous and difficult to reach medially.

 

Creative strategy based on target group's interests

The agency and customer relied on the commonality of the new target group: "Hurray! We're done with school – life can begin!" All paths are now open and everything can be tried out. The target group is hungry for new experiences! They follow their desires by pursuing fun with friends or trying out trend sports.

Mission: Create enthusiasm and involvement with "Stripe up your life!"

The agency transformed the brand colors, with their distinctive stripes, into the hero of the campaign and used it to strengthen the branding. "Emotionality instead of pedagogy; fun, sports and music instead of rational arguments." The agency's success formula led to fireworks in white and orange that set young and trendy sports in the foreground, implemented in a mixture of real shots and computer animation. Part of the campaign was a completely new sport: "sporthockering", a mixture of skateboarding and acrobatics.

The campaign reflected the active fun and joie de vivre of the young generation. "Stripe up your life!" was the deliberate imperative to creatively design one's own interests and actions in white and orange and thus, to individually interpret the brand.

Fully Integrated 360°media

The STABILO Facebook page was the central platform for youth from around the world. It was also a cross-media campaign. Branding was found primarily on TV and online. High-coverage national awareness was generated by online/mobile pre-rolls with high-impact special productions such as branded players and in combination with TV. Supported by online/mobile display, these directed traffic to the campaign pages.

"Stripe up your life!" provided on-the-ground involvement. Tour 2013 involved the 20 largest cities in Germany, supplemented by 220,000 interactive promotional sample flyers that included a Point 88 plus augmented reality features, sweepstakes opportunities for direct participation, and fully-branded POSs. The tour also promoted STABILO's Internet presence and Facebook community.

This media mix included placards surrounding the POS, live presence at sporthockering trend events and youth festivals as well as broad cooperation with VIVA, where streetlife subjects including the STABILO tour were promoted on-air, online and in the VIVA community.

<

Sensational results exceeded all expectations

Brand awareness: Sensational increase of 17% in only 2 months! – far above the goal of 5%. The concise visuals reflected the spirit of the target group. STABILO improved its market position with young people.

Image: All required items were improved. Its reputation as "cool" and "innovative" rose significantly and much more than expected.

Turnover: STABILO became not only more widely recognized, but has shown strongly increased sales..

Turnover with the Point 88 even increased by 7% and with STABILO by 5% over the previous year, contrary to the competition's development. Due to STABILO alone, the overall market for writing instruments grew by 1%.

Online: With 56,000 fans, the campaign laid the foundation for an active STABILO Facebook community.

Dealers: The number of customers visiting specialized shops increased by a fantastic 300% due to an extremely high promotion return of over 18%. This had twofold benefit. STABILO purchases increased by a considerable 185% compared to the same period in the previous year.

And last but nor least:

Efficiency: The budget used to address the target group of 14-24-year-olds in terms of trending sports was much lower than comparable activities by other providers in a similar environment.

Re-inventing a brand by returning to its roots

The Stripe campaign is absolutely NEW – and yet, nothing new. Rather, the core of the existing STABILO brand and the well-known unique striped design of the Point 88 was freshly staged, reinterpreted and emotionally charged.

From low-interest to high involvement

With its new orientation to youth, STABILO succeeded not only in refreshing its image. The intelligent 360°media strategy was highly efficient and ensured maximum involvement, high brand awareness in a new target group and ultimately for increasing sales over the entire product range, because the strong image campaign for the Hero product generated strong cross-selling effects and gave the overall brand a great boost.

From the school desk to the sporthocker

With its trend-sport focus, STABILO nailed the exact tastes and needs of the target group, both in terms of content and in communication. This laid the cornerstone for long-term brand loyalty lasting far beyond school – thus ensuring growth prospects in the stagnating market. The successful strategy will be continued.

The campaign was nominated for the Effie awards..

If you also want such results, and with a small budget as well, ask us about our creative cross-channel ideas. We would love to develop the kind of success story with you that we did with the STABILO Point 88.

Contact: neugierig@waechter-waechter.de
or Marco Ludwig, m.ludwig@waechter-waechter.de
Wächter & Wächter Worldwide Partners, 80337 Munich, Tel. 089 16 79 29 710

Stabilo point88

Jungbrunnen für einen klassiker
Print | Film | Online | Literatur | Event

Vom schulischen Vernunftprodukt zu neuer Coolness

Marktsituation: Schreiben ist out. Schule ist out. point 88 ist out.

Der point 88, das Flagshipprodukt von STABILO war in die Jahre gekommen und hatte an vielen Fronten zu kämpfen: sinkende Schülerzahlen (dabei war zuvor der Schulbedarf der Hauptumsatztreiber), Rückgang des händischen Schreibens, starke Konkurrenzaktivitäten der anderen Qualitätsanbieter und der Discounter, Billig-Onlineangebote und vor allem low interest nach der Schule: Wenn diese zu Ende ist, sank auch das Interesse am point 88 auf einem Tiefpunkt, denn bisher verstand es STABILO nicht sich langfristig im Relevant Set der Jugend zu halten.

Gewagte neue Zielgruppenstrategie

Weil es aber schon aus demografischen Gründen nur bei der Nachschulgeneration noch etwas zu holen gibt, entschied sich STABILO zusammen mit der Agentur erstmalig und im Markt der Schreibwaren bisher ohne Beispiel die Komfortzone des Kindermarketings zu verlassen, obwohl die Eroberungs-Zielgruppe von Haupt- und Realschulabgängern und angehenden Studenten (14-24 Jahre) fragmentiert, sehr heterogen und medial sehr schwer zu erreichen ist.

 

Neue Kreativstrategie setzt auf Interessen der jungen Zielgruppe

Agentur und Kunde setzen auf das, was die neue Zielgruppe verbindet: raus aus der Schule und das (gefühlte) wahre Leben beginnt! Es ist die Zeit in der einem alle Wege offen stehen und man sich einfach mal ausprobieren kann. Die Zielgruppe ist hungrig auf das Leben! Diesen Hunger stillen sie in Interessensfeldern wie mit Freunden ausgehen und vor allem Fun- und Trendsportarten.

Mission: Create Begeisterung und Involvement mit Stripe up your life!

Die Agentur machte die Markenfarben mit dem unverwechselbaren Streifenmuster zum Hero und stärkte so das Branding. "Emotionalität statt Didaktik, Fun, Sport und Musik statt rationaler Argumente", diese von der Agentur formulierten Erfolgsregeln führen zu einem Feuerwerk in Weiß und Orange, das junge und trendige Sportarten in ungewöhnlicher Weise inszeniert, umgesetzt in einer Mischung aus Realdreh und Computeranimation. Eine völlig neue Sportart ist Teil der Kampagne, das Sporthockern, eine Mischung aus Skateboarden und Akrobatik.

Die Kampagne reflektiert Fun und aktive Lebensfreude der jungen Generation. Der bewusst gewählte Imperativ Stripe up your life! ist die Aufforderung, eigene Themen und Aktionen selbst kreativ in White & Orange zu gestalten und so die Marke individuell zu interpretieren.

Voll Integrierte 360° Media

Die Facebook Site von STABILO ist dabei die zentrale Plattform für die Jugend aus aller Welt. Aber es ist eine cross media Kampagne: Das branding erfolgt in erster Linie über TV und Online: Online/Mobile-Prerolls, mit impactstarken Sonderinszenierungen wie Branded Playern, in Kombination mit TV generieren dafür reichweitenstarke, nationale Awareness und sorgen, unterstützt von Online/Mobile-Display, für Traffic auf den Aktionsseiten.

Für Involvement On the Ground sorgt die Stripe up your life! Tour 2013 durch die 20 größten Städte Deutschlands, ergänzt um 220.000 interaktive Promotion-Sample-Flyer inkl. einem point 88, Augmented Reality Features und Gewinnspielmöglichkeiten, die die Zielgruppe direkt zum teilnehmenden umfänglich gebrandeten POS des Fachhandels und zu STABILO im Netz und der Facebook-Community führt.

Ergänzt wird der Mediamix durch Plakatierungen um den POS, Live-Präsenz auf Events rund um den SportHocker Trend, Jugendmessen und Festivals, sowie einer breiten Kooperation mit VIVA, wo Streetlife-Themen inkl. der STABILO-Tour on air, online und über die VIVA Community promotet werden.

<

Sensationelle Ergebnisse, alle über den Erwartungen

Markenbekanntheit: Sensationelle Steigerung um 17% in nur 2 Monaten! weit über das Ziel von 5% hinaus. Die optische Prägnanz trifft den Nerv der Zielgruppe. STABILO verbessert seine Marktstellung bei den Jugendlichen dadurch deutlich.

Image Alle abgefragten Items können verbessert werden, cool und innovativ stiegen dabei deutlich überproportional und weitaus stärker als erwartet.

Umsatz: STABILO wird nicht nur besser wahrgenommen, sondern auch verstärkt gekauft.

Der Umsatz mit dem point 88 steigt sogar um 7% und der von STABILO um ganze 5% gegenüber Vorjahr, konträr zur Entwicklung der Konkurrenz. Nur durch STABILO wächst auch der Schreibgerätemarkt insgesamt um 1%.

Online: Die Aktion legt mit über 56.000 Fans den Grundstock für eine aktive STABILO-Facebook-Community.

Fachhandel: Die Besucherfrequenz im Fachhandel steigt im Schnitt um phantastische 300%, durch einen extrem hohen Promotionrücklauf von über 18%. Das ist doppelt positiv: Dabei steigen auch die Käufe von STABILO Produkten um beachtliche 185% gegenüber dem Vorjahreszeitraum.

Und last but noch least:

Effizienz: Der Budgeteinsatz bei der Zielgruppenansprache der 14-24 Jährigen im Themenfeld Trendsportarten ist weitaus geringer als bei vergleichbaren Aktionen anderer Anbieter im ähnlichen Umfeld.

Aus den Wurzeln der Marke heraus sich neu erfunden

Die Stripe Kampagne ist absolut NEU - und doch nichts Neues. Vielmehr werden der bestehende STABILO-Markenkern und das bekannte unique Streifendesign des point 88 frisch inszeniert, neu interpretiert und emotional aufgeladen.

Aus Low-Interest wird High-Involvement

STABILO glückt mit der jugendrelevanten Neuausrichtung der Kommunikation nicht nur ein Image-Refresh. Die intelligente 360°-Mediastrategie, arbeitet hocheffizient und sorgt für maximales Involvement, hohe Markenbekanntheit in einer neuen Zielgruppe und letztendlich für steigende Umsätze im Gesamtsortiment, weil die imagestarke Kampagne für das Hero-Produkt starke Cross-Selling Effekte und einen starken Image-Boost für die Gesamtmarke gibt.

Von der Schulbank auf den Sporthocker

STABILO trifft mit dem Umfeld Trendsportarten inhaltlich und kommunikativ genau den Geschmack und die Bedürfnisse der Eroberungs-Zielgruppe. Damit ist der Grundstein für eine langfristige Markenbindung über die Schule hinaus - und damit auch für Wachstumsperspektiven im stagnierenden Markt gelegt. Die erfolgreiche Strategie wird fortgesetzt.

Die Kampagne wurde für den Effie nominiert.

Wenn Sie also auch solche Ergebnisse schaffen wollen und das mit bescheidenem Budget, dann sollte sie uns nach unseren kreativen Ideen für alle Kanäle fragen. Wir schreiben mit Ihnen gerne solche Erfolgsgeschichten wie mit dem STABILO point 88.

Kontakt: neugierig@waechter-waechter.de
oder Marco Ludwig, m.ludwig@waechter-waechter.de
Wächter & Wächter Worldwide Partners, 80337 München Tel. 089 16 79 29 710